276°
Posted 20 hours ago

A Million to One

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

It’s about Josefa, a pickpocket from Spain, Emilie, a Haitian French painter, Violet, an actress from Croatia, and Hinnah, an acrobat from India. Narrator Sohm Kapila creates unique voices for each girl as she tells her story in alternating chapters. Now Tristan has to deal with his wayward sibling, Devin’s Brazilian bride, in addition to his own wife and his aunt’s pampered pooch.

But the Titanic is filled with distractions, romance, and all sorts of obstacles, and the job may be easier said than done. Emilie was the outlier within this quartet but Josefa trusted her for her art talent (and very obviously implied feelings).

Perfect for fans of Stalking Jack the Ripper and Girl in the Blue Coat, this high-seas heist from the author of The Henna Wars is an immersive story that makes readers forget one important detail--the ship sinks. I thought she was antagonistic for no reason and this frustrated me to no end while reading the book.

I have to say I loved Josefa’s character, she was methodical and intense and really knew how to lead a group. As with all historical fiction, Jaigirdar has taken some liberties, but she’s also taken great pains to represent the people who “might have been there. Also, though this is Jaigirdar’s third book and she is an experienced author, the writing style has some significant flaws. In the year of 2022, I need authors to stop this weird narrative where a Rich Black Character is believed to be more privileged than a Poor White Character.I was excited to see her take on a different genre, but to my disappointment, A Million to One read as a half-baked, flimsy excuse for a heist. Josefa can't score it alone, so she enlists a team of girls with unique talents: Hinnah, a daring acrobat and contortionist; Violet, an actress and expert dissembler; and Emilie, an artist who can replicate any drawing by hand. I guess a positive of this book is that it reads fast, but in the process, everything blurs together and we just never really get to sit in each girl's head or learn their motivations beyond the money they hope to earn from this heist. Everything that should have been interesting about this novel—getting the gang together, the Titanic setting, carrying out the heist, the romance—was glossed over in favor of a good 100 pages of dithering in between each major plot point.

The Titanic represents a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity and is just the thing she needs to accomplish her goals, so, after months of planning, and acquiring (stealing) four Third-Class tickets, well, doći će I naše urijeme! Emilie, a skilled painter and forger, is reluctant to take apart the Rubaiyat for profit but is swayed by the thought of using the money from selling the individual jewels to travel to Haiti, her birth country, and visit her deceased mother’s family. For a novel that seemed to market the diversity and individuality of the crew, it would’ve been leagues better if I had been able to tell who was who without the chapter titles. Thrillingly, Trevor takes the reader with him into dressing rooms, into boardrooms and on to the field of play.Honestly, I'm glad she didn't delve into the religious background because I am sure she would've butchered the idea of gender separation that exists in Islamic spaces (to be clear: Islam does not advise you to kick out your child if you see them with someone of the opposite gender lmaooo. Sir Bill Taylor has almost fifty years of successful experience in public service as a full-time youth and community worker, manager and trainer professionally and as a Councillor, Committee chair, Executive Member, Mayor and deputy Mayor, Deputy Leader and Leader of Blackburn with Darwen Council. But – infuriated by the advertising agency across the hall making fun of her job – Annie is goaded into accepting their crazy challenge: to make a random stranger Instagram-famous in just thirty days. They should also be at the beginning of the ARCs themselves and the beginning of the final copies of the book. A heart-pounding, romantic adventure from the award-winning author of Hani and Ishu’s Fake Guide to Dating.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment